Talk to me Ford Truck Fans

• Eddy Peterson Jr.
  • Topic Author
  • 1st Gear
  • 1st Gear
More
1 week 6 days ago #203735 by Eddy Peterson Jr.
Talk to me Ford Truck Fans was created by Eddy Peterson Jr.
Hi All
I'm brand new to the ERICTHECARGUY website . I am now for several months a big fan of Eric and his youtube channel !

I own a 1990 ford 4x4 f 150 xlt lariat . Under the hood is the 5.0 v8 302 . New to me this truck is a fixer upper and needs just about everything...but my humble opinion , I just can't believe how flipping expensive trucks are becoming , near 40,000 for a standard new ford truck is just sickening to me , and i never want that car payment . So...I vow to love and committ to what I have no matter how many new parts it needs...Im pretty sure I can keep it under 40,000 to get to great shape .

I'm already in the fire pit of repairs on this truck fast and furious , trying to prioritize their importance as I attempt to bring this truck back to a runner with another 20 years of good livin .

Out of the gate , Ive got something happening underneath...here in wintery Colorado , I experienced a clunk noise and a grabbing feeling underneath that felt like something bound momentarily then freed up . I pulled over immediately and looked to my hearts content and found nothing obviously broken . I remain at this moment able to drive it...turn , stop , and shift okay...but I have a rattling and grinding type noise that occurs right away after letting off the gas after about 30 miles per hour . Hearing the noise and feeling some vibration approx...under my feet of the floorboards or just behind the cab underneath .

Any comments on how to self diagnose or figure out how to isolate my noise...as i can't pinpoint while driving or find anything damaged underneath visibly to my eye .

Thanks in advance for any helpful comments .

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Advertisement
More
1 week 5 days ago #203746 by college man