Menu
  • Home
  • Topic
  • unburned fuel in my tailpipe / ign. timing fun

unburned fuel in my tailpipe / ign. timing fun

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Girls in the Garage unburned fuel in my tailpipe / ign. timing fun

• Creator
    Topic
    colleencolleen
    Participant

96 accord 4cyl vtec m/trans

Well, I was bleeding my cooling system today, and noticed this unsightly event:

not sure if it’s just dripping before engine reaches optimal temp or not, but decided to check my timing, which I’VE NEVER DONE BEFORE. I capitalized that so people know NOT to follow my lead on anything! Anyhow, I read the Chilton manual, it said (exactly):

ignition timing adjustment, 2.2 & 2.3L engines

1. place shifter in park or neutral. parking brake on, wheels blocked
      2. with heater off and in full cold position, start engine, hold engine speed at 3000 rpm, till radiator fan comes on once. to check timing, engine must be at idle and at normal operating temps. Turn off all electrical consumers (defroster, radio, a/c, lights)
      3. locate blue plastic service check connector, which can be found centrally located on the passenger side, under the dash.
      4. attach the service connector tool number 07PAZ-0010100 or equivalent to the connector.

a paper clip can be substituted for the tool by forming a ‘u’ shaped bend in the paper clip and carefully inserting it into the back side of the scs connector terminals. the purpose of the tool is simply to connect the two wires together temporarily.

5. connect a timing light to no. 1 ignition wire and point the light toward the pointer on the timing belt cover.

6. check the idle speed and adjust if necessary

7. the red mark on the crankshaft pulley should be aligned with the pointer on the timing belt cover. the white mark on the crank pulley is top dead center.